Painted Jewelry Box

img_1520-2
Today I thought I would share a DIY painted box that can be used as a jewelry box, a place to store your keys, anything you want!


1. |Make A Plan| I find that my projects turn out much better when I have a complete idea of how I want it to turn out. Make a quick sketch of your box and play around with how you want yours to look |colours, decorations, patterns, etc.|. It doesn’t have to be fancy, just so you can get an idea of the finished product.


2. |Gather Your Materials| When you have your plan drawn out, bring all of your materials to your work area. Your project will be much less frustrating when you don’t have to run all over looking for the things you forgot. |Tip: while sketching out your plan, make a list of everything you’re going to need and check it off as you go.| I got my box at my local craft store.
3. |Sand Your Box| This step is optional. But I will recommend it, as the process and finished product is much nicer when you have a smooth surface to work with. Take off the hinges with a small screwdriver and go over all of the edges with a piece of sandpaper |I like to use 120 or 150 grit|. This will remove any surface imperfections or roughness.


4. |Stain| Istead of painting the inside of my box, I’ve decided to stain it. I’m using Varathane Premium Wood Stain in Dark Walnut. All I’m going to do is take an old piece of cloth, dip it into the stain and gently rub it into the wood, going with the direction of the grain. Make sure you wear gloves! Apply extra coats until you reach the desired darkness. I only used one coat on the box pictured.


5. |Paint| A coat of primer is optional for this step as well, but it will help to keep the paint from absorbing into the wood. For this particular project I did not use primer, simply because of the type of paint I am using. For this box, I am using Martha Stewart Multisurface Chalkboard Paint in the color Grey |It’s more of a mushroom grey|. And I am using just a white acrylic paint for the bottom trim.


6. |Reassemble| Once you have finished painting, and let it dry, you can go ahead and add the hinges and front clasp back onto your box.


7. |Decorations| After putting your box back together gather up your chosen decorations and add your finishing touches to your box. For my box, I’m using these super cute paper flowers from Michael’s, and I have attached them with a hot glue gun to make sure they stay in place.


8. |Fill Er’ Up| When your finished adding your decorations to your box and you’re happy with it, fill it up! I’m using this one as a jewelry box |If you can’t tell by the picture ;)|. These are also a great place to store your keys or anything else you can think of!

Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed my DIY painted box. If you would like to see more projects like this leave a comment below, I’m always looking for new ideas!

Leave a Reply

