Top 5 Everyday Essentials Under $10

So as many of you know, life can get expensive. Like real fast. And sometimes it can be difficult to figure out how to reduce extra spending in your everyday life. For me, as I’m coming up on 20 years old (I know, so old right?) and life keeps handing me more and more expenses, I find myself trying to find ways to save a few dollars here and there. Especially since I am looking at going to university and venturing out on my own.

Having said that, over the past few months I have been experimenting with different products that I use on an everyday basis in an attempt to find the “best bang for my buck” (don’t take that the wrong way…). So let’s get into it!

1. Shampoo & Conditioner

Obviously everybody uses shampoo and conditioner. But buying these two necessities can add up rather quickly! I’ve always been fairly picky when it comes to shampoo, I won’t use the kind that looks pretty and pearly. It just makes my hair feel so gross and unclean! Has anyone else experienced that? So I usually ended up buying the salon brands that you need a second job to afford. And since my hair is nearly down to my butt, you can easily imagine how fast I went through that, and how much that ends up costing.

I finally got tired of spending over $20 dollars a month just on shampoo, and I decided to go on a search for an comparable brand that wasn’t going to break me. In my search, I came across Down Under Natural’s Hypoallerenic Shampoo & Conditioner. I figured why not, I’m only out a few bucks! And let me tell you, the phrase “you get what you pay for” does not apply here. Easily comparable to the other brand I was using, and since it’s hypoallergenic, it makes a great product for anyone with scent sensitivities, and it’s also dye and paraben free. The cost is pretty great too at only $3.77 for a 1 Litre bottle!

2. Leave-In Conditioner

Like I mentioned above, I have very long hair. Making one half of the year a nightmare with static, and the other half with frizz. So to keep my hair sleek, smooth, and static free year round I like to use leave-in conditioner after every shower. And like the shampoo and conditioner, I learned that you don’t have to pay big prices to get an amazing product. So after, trying a few different products, I settled on Garnier’s Whole Blends Coconut Oil & Cocoa Butter Leave-In Conditioner. For me using a nickel size amount and smoothing it through clean, damp hair leaves me shiny, frizz-free, and static-free locks. With a price of $7.96 for a 300mL bottle you can’t go wrong. Plus it makes your hair smell like coconut! It’s win-win!

3. Makeup Remover

I don’t know about you guys, but sometimes it can be hard to find makeup remover that doesn’t make me breakout. And again, the popular phrase “you get what you pay for” doesn’t always apply. Makeup remover can be costly, so I decided to go for one of the classics, which is none other than Pond’s. But I went one step up from the original, I decided to try Pond’s Wet Cleansing Towelettes: Exfoliating Renewal With Citrus & Cucumber. These are super gentle on your skin, smell great, and the textured cloths help to remove any dirt and makeup on your skin. With a price of $5.97 for a pack of 30, you can’t go wrong! I keep a pack of these in both my bathroom and my toiletries bag, making travel easier than ever (nobody likes a breakout when they’re on vacation!).

4. Wrinkles-Be-Gone

It’s a skill that many adults have…and some don’t (and that’s okay!). Either that, or like me, you’re just lazy. That’s right, I’m talking about the dreaded task of ironing (dun-dun-dun). Whether you just don’t feel like dragging out the ironing board, or you’re short on time in the morning…then this product is for you! I am talking about Downy’s Wrinkle Releaser Plus (It truly is a miracle in a bottle). I keep a bottle of it in my toiletries bag (because I am a horrible packer), in my dresser (because I am lazy), and in my purse (for those times you have been driving for a long period of time, and when you get out the back of your shirt is all wrinkly…you know what I’m talking about…right?). And for such a low price of $2.47 for a 90mL bottle, put one in every room of your house for all I care! I won’t judge!

5. Face Cleanser

Face cleanser can be a hard one, there are sooo many choices. All of them having different ingredients that say will clear up your skin, but which one do you choose!? It can definitely be overwhelming having such a wide range of choices, and everybody’s skin is different. Having tried close to a billion face cleansers ranging from Clean & Clear to Clearasil and more, I’ve finally found one that not only helps clear my skin but leaves it feeling fresh and not too dry. Bioré’s Charcoal Cleanser is my go-to cleanser. But here’s the kicker; I generally tend to have oily skin, and the charcoal helps to pull out any excess oil, keeping my skin free and clear of any buildup. But my sister tends to have dry skin, and the formula helps keep her skin hydrated enough that it doesn’t get too dry. As an overall review, it seems to be a great product for most skin types. And as a bonus, the charcoal formula also comes in a bar form, making it great for helping with body acne. Oh, and the cost isn’t too shabby either at $7.97 for a 200mL bottle or 107g soap bar.

So that’s it! My top 5 everyday essentials under $10! If you would like to see more posts like this let me know! Also leave your favourite everyday essentials in the comments below!

Thanks for reading!

-M

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

